Advanced Imaging


Industry News

Updated: July 8th, 2008 05:26 PM CDT

Olympus Announces 2006 Winners of Olympus Innovation Award Program

via PRNewswire

Ochs, who will receive $10,000 as winner of the Olympus Innovation Award, was recognized for founding and building Lehigh's 12-year-old IPD program, a unique undergraduate program that fully integrates the three fundamental pillars of successful product design and commercialization: design arts, engineering and business. Ochs has also championed the Lehigh Entrepreneurs Network of alumni, students and staff. He was instrumental in forming cross-disciplinary faculty working groups that have piloted dozens of new courses and hands-on interdisciplinary programs throughout the university. These programs have attracted millions of dollars of development funds tosupport the infrastructure now in place. Schools across the world emulate the IPD program, which has won several national awards. Ochs, a former national chair of the American Society for Engineering Education's Entrepreneurship Division, was a finalist in last year's Olympus Innovation Award Program.

Kleppe, who created and operated a successful manufacturing company while working at the University of Nevada-Reno (UNR), won the Olympus Lifetime ofEducational Innovation Award for his outstanding 37-year career as anengineering educator. He has received several teaching awards. His pioneering senior capstone class, supported by UNR's Lemelson Center for Invention,Innovation and Entrepreneurship, is recognized nationally and internationally for teaching engineering students how to invent, patent, produce, market andsell inventions. Many of Kleppe's former students have either started their own companies or have assumed key responsibilities at emerging companies. Inaddition to his work at the university, Kleppe has taught at Northern Nevada high schools. His award includes a $2,500 prize.

Lovell received the Olympus Emerging Educational Leader Award for his work fostering innovation among student entrepreneurship teams during just fiveyears at the University of Pittsburgh . As the founding director of the Swanson Center for Product Innovation, Lovell secured NCIIA funding to develop a novel curriculum in new product development for undergraduate business and engineering students that resulted in more than 70 NCIIA-supported E-Teams (Efor Excellence and Entrepreneurship), which in turn formed seven companies and attracted additional NCIIA grants. Lovell also developed an E-Team Prototyping Service Center that led to the formation of RAPID, a network of 21 academicin stitutions that are committed to fostering innovation and entrepreneurship among E-Teams. In recognition of his work, Lovell will receive $1,000.

Ochs, Lovell and Kleppe were selected from numerous qualified faculty nominated by colleagues at NCIIA member institutions, including many topcolleges and research institutions in the United States . The winners were determined by a committee of five judges, including Steven Nichols , professor of mechanical engineering, University of Texas at Austin, the winner of the2005 inaugural Olympus Innovation Award; Tang; Weilerstein; Dr. Abigail Barrow , founding director, Massachusetts Technology Transfer Center; and Dr. Arthur A. Boni , deputy director and John R. Thorne professor, Donald H. Jones Center for Entrepreneurship, Carnegie Mellon University.

Selection criteria for the Olympus Innovation Award included teaching and program design innovation, problem solving, quality of outcomes, quantitative impact, institutional change, individual influence, inspiration to innovate, motivation to action and societal impact. Nominations for the Olympus Emerging Educational Leader Award were evaluated based on initiative, institutional impact, motivation to action, teaching and program design innovation and influence on peers. Review criteria for the Olympus Lifetime of Educational Innovation Award included period of active engagement, respect of peers,teaching and program design innovation, quality of outcomes, quantitative impact and positive institutional change. All selection criteria were weighted and evaluated on a 1-5 rating scale.

Subscribe to our RSS Feeds